CRG African Literatures

The Collaborative Research Group (CRG) African Literatures is a forum for interdisciplinary exchange and for engaging and opening channels between African literary studies and African Studies, to promote African literature as a discipline within the larger spheres of the humanities and the social sciences.


CRG Coordinators: 

Elara Bertho 
CNRS, LAM, Bordeaux

Joanna Woods 
Stockholm University

Sreya Mallika Datta 
University of Liverpool

How to join 

The CRG is aimed at researchers working in African literatures broadly. We invite all career level scholars to apply for membership, but we are particularly interested in engaging postgraduate students, PhDs, and early career scholars. 

To become a member and join the African Literatures CRG, please send an email to: In your email, please state your name, title, institutional affiliation, and area/s of expertise.

Once you have emailed us, we will add you to the mailing list, and we’ll be in touch.


Shola Adenekan (University of Amsterdam, Netherlands)
Grace Musila (Wits University, South Africa) 
Abdoulaye Keita (Dakar, Senegal) 
Joseph Oduro-Frimpong (Cape Town, South Africa)
Maëline Le Lay (CNRS, France)
Dorothée Boulanger (Oxford University, UK)
Markus Arnold (Cape Town University, South Africa)
Ninon Chavoz (Université de Strasbourg)
Nicklas Hållén (Karlstad University, Sweden)
Ashleigh Harris (Uppsala Universtiy, Sweden)
Stefan Helgesson (Stockholm University, Sweden)
Madhu Krishnan (University of Bristol, UK)
Sandra Bornand (CNRS, France)
Sylvère Mbondobari (Université Bordeaux, Fr.)
Pierre Leroux (Paris, Fr)
Maria Zirra (Stockholm, Sweden)
Alice Chaudemanche (Paris, Fr.)
Maria Benedita Basto (Université Sorbonne, Fr.)
Cécile van den Avenne (Paris, Fr)
Catherine Mazauric (Université Aix Marseille, Fr.)
Aurores Desgranges (Université Lyon)
Tina Harpin (Université de Guyane, France)
Tamsir Djibril Niane (Conakry, Guinea)
Florian Alix (Université Sorbonne, Fr.)
Patrick Lumasia (Rhodes University, SA)
Marjolaine Unter Ecker (Université Aix Marseille, France)
Xavier Garnier (Sorbonne Nouvelle, France)
Jade Munslow Ong (University of Salford, UK)
Sanja Nivesjö (Uppsala University, Sweden)
Amadou Oury Diallo (Université de Zinguinchor, Senegal)
Romuald Fonkoua (Université Sorbonne, Fr)
Claire de Bertrand de Beuvron (Université Aix Marseille, France)
Hassan Mbiydzenyuy Yosimbom (Cameroon; SA)
Anouchka Stevellia Moussavou Nyama (Université Aix Marseille, Fr.)
Asante Mtenje (University of Malawi Malawi; Oxford University, UK)
Tasnim Qutait (Uppsala University, Sweden)
Kate Wallis (University of Exeter, UK)
Russell West-Pavlov (Universität Tübingen, Germany)
Ruth Wenske Stern (The Hebrew University of Jerusalem)
Karen Lauterbach (Copenhagen University, Denmark)
Astrid Rasch (Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway)
Megan Fourqurean (University of Leeds, UK)
Tinashe Mushakavanhu (University of Oxford, UK)
Bodil Folke Frederiksen (Roskilde University, Denmark)
Talktome Sandile (South Africa)
Cecile Dolisane-Ebosse (University of Yaounde, Cameroon)
Sam Durrant (University of Leeds)
Brendon Nicholls (University of Leeds, UK)
Marta Tveit (University of Oslo, Norway)
Indiana Lods (Université de Dijon, France)
Melanie Joseph-Vilain (Université de Bourgogne, France)
Mathilde Rogez (Université de Toulouse, France) 
Lotte Pelckmans (University of Copenhagen, Denmark)